Music News

The Rolling Stones kicked off the latest U.S. leg of their ongoing “No Filter” tour last night (September 26), and the band began the show with a touching tribute to late drummer Charlie Watts.

The fan-shot video embedded below captured a beautiful video highlighting Watts through the years set to a thundering drum solo. The fans in attendance at The Dome at America’s Center in St. Louis responded with thunderous applause and cheering.

Later in the show, Mick Jagger, Keith Richards and Ronnie Wood stood together and acknowledged Watts. Jagger said, in part, while Richards held his hand, “I was quite emotional seeing those pictures of Charlie up on the screen. This is our first tour we’ve ever done without him. The reaction from you guys has been really touching, and we want to thank you very much…We all miss Charlie so much on the stage and off the stage, and we’d love to dedicate this tour to Charlie.”

The Stones performed a 19-song set that included “Street Fighting Man,” “Wild Horses,” “Midnight Rambler,” the newer track “Living in a Ghost Town” and more. (Full tracklisting is below.)

The Rolling Stones – 9/26/2021 The Dome at America’s Center, St. Louis – Setlist

1. “Street Fighting Man”
2. “It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll (But I Like It)”
3. “Tumbling Dice”
4. “Under My Thumb”
5. “19th Nervous Breakdown”
6. “Wild Horses”
7. “You Can’t Always Get What You Want”
8. “Living in a Ghost Town”
9. “Start Me Up”
10. “Honky Tonk Women”
11. “Little T&A”
12. “Slipping Away”
13. “Miss You”
14. “Midnight Rambler”
15. “Paint it Black”
16. “Sympathy for the Devil”
17. “Jumpin’ Jack Flash”
18. “Gimme Shelter”
19. “(I Can’t Get No) Satisfaction”

Charlie Watts: Classic Images Through The Years

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice.